top of page

African Diaspora: Its effects on Brazil

This week in my communications class, I learned so much pertaining to the movement of Africans and its effect on the culture in Brazil. I think so far, the most import concept of this chapter is understanding that the slave trade went to so many places and has affected the world we live in today. I learned about the Quilombos and the Quilombo dos Palmares groups of runaway slaves in Brazil. How they used dance; dance allowed marginalized communities to assert their cultural identity, challenge social norms, and reclaim their agency.


While In Class, my group discussed the similarities between the quilombos and the maroons of Jamaica. We found that similarly, Maroons in Jamaica were communities of escaped slaves. Both Quilombos and Maroons represented forms of resistance against slavery and colonial oppression, establishing autonomous settlements away from plantation societies. We also did a group/ class discussion about Chica De silva the prompt had a pros/cons side. I happened to be on the con. We were to determine if her story should be idolized. I was happy to be a con and share my opinions with my classmates. Overall, it was a very mentally stimulating assignment and I was so happy to learn.



Chica Da Silva

The Quilombos



Comentários


IMG_8796.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Join me on a personal and educational adventure as I share the emotions stirred by my college communications course focused on the African Diaspora. Explore the highs of cultural resilience and the lows of historical challenges faced by these communities. Through heartfelt reflections and engaging stories, discover the profound impact of studying the African Diaspora on my perspective and emotional connection to the world.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page