top of page

Exploring Diversity in Cinema: A Review of "La Negrada"

La Negrada, internationally known as Black Mexicans directed by Jorge Perez Solano is profound as it allows a different perspective of the African Diaspora.

The story revolves around the lives of two families in Costa Chica, Oaxaca, who are connected through the father named Neri. The movie depicts the journey of Neri and his families who are always searching for him. Family values hold great significance in Mexico, and despite Neri being a cheater in this love triangle, both women decide to stay close to him for the sake of their family. For a significant part of the movie, I was left wondering if Neri was a deadbeat.

Throughout the entire movie, I found it hard to like Neri. Every time he spoke, I felt angry. Whenever he rode his bike, I knew I wouldn't like where he was going. Neri had a wife named Juana, a mistress named Magdalena, two daughters named Angela and Sarah, and two sons named Bulgri and an unnamed one. It's mentioned that Neri has other women and children down the coast of Mexico. He's just a rolling stone.


I really admired Sara, the main character of the movie. She stood up for her beliefs and never let anyone take advantage of her. All she cared about was taking care of her mother and fulfilling her mother's wishes. I loved how the movie showcased the connections between the African Diaspora and how we are all similar in our struggles and aspirations. Watching the movie, I was a bit confused about the main message and theme, but I was kept engaged by the great acting and the fact that it was in Spanish. Magdalena's character had me feeling conflicted - I didn't hate her, but I also didn't love her. I couldn't really understand why she loved Neri, and I was also confused about why Juana loved him too.


Juana and Sarah "Mother and Daughter"

Oaxaca: The Land of Afro-Descendants in Mexico


Before watching this film, I had already heard of Oaxaca and its Afro-descendants. In middle school, my friends' parents were originally from Oaxaca. I knew it was the place of Afro-Latinos, however, after watching this film and learning in class I understand that the Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade was so much bigger than everything I was taught before. Around 250,000 slaves were imported from Africa to Oaxaca. Today, Statistically, about 1.4 million Mexicans acknowledge themselves as individuals of Afro-descendant. Overall, this film was made to shine light on a culture and community that is not referenced in Mexico. The lack of specific cultural features, such as language, government, or territory, has dismissed their representation as a population, nation, and culture. Which should leave you wondering, how many other communities are unrepresented and forgotten about?

Comments


IMG_8796.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Join me on a personal and educational adventure as I share the emotions stirred by my college communications course focused on the African Diaspora. Explore the highs of cultural resilience and the lows of historical challenges faced by these communities. Through heartfelt reflections and engaging stories, discover the profound impact of studying the African Diaspora on my perspective and emotional connection to the world.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page